Charles Porter & Sons have had a rich history in the Mackay region since commencing business in 1883. Here is a snapshot of some of the significant events throughout the years.
Porters - History
Charles Porter commenced building the Empress of India Hotel on the site of the current Taylors Hotel on 13 August 1883.
Charles Porter was involved in the construction of Mackay’s Town Hall.
Charles Porter introduced hardware & plumbing supplies into the business.
Charles Porter was at the inaugural meeting for the formation of the Mackay Master Builders Association.
The Great Cyclone devastated Mackay.
Porters began importing iron from England, glass products from Belgium, paint from America and fibrolite sheeting from France.
The Brisbane Street showroom opened where the current Porters Mitre 10 Mackay business still stands today, the motto ‘anything in building materials’ was adopted.
World War II
Porters introduced aluminium windows and doors into its business.
Porters celebrates 100 years in business.